Mud treatment at the river… no spa required

The notion of SIMPLICITY pretty much hits me full on in some way every day in my village life. Starting the day by wrapping myself in a sarong sets the scene. It is just one piece of fabric. It makes my years at fashion school mastering the art of complex pattern making, tailoring techniques and hours of hand sewing through the night somewhat redundant.

wading through the cool river after a trek... tranquility (and muscle relief)

wading through the cool river after a trek… tranquility (and muscle relief)

The latest revelation to hit me occurred when I was hanging out by the river waiting for our guests to appear from their canyon tubing adventure. I had about 90 mins in a very beautiful tranquil ravine. I spent the time doing interval training on the hills and wading in the river. My staff just kick back in true Balinese style, no doubt wondering why I want to work up a sweat when there is the option to do nothing.

mud exfoliation ... simplicity

mud exfoliation … simplicity

Agung spent his time on a mud treatment for his feet. Handfuls of rich, grainy mud did the job of exfoliating and polishing his skin to an admirable glow.

There was no rush. No less than 45 mins or so for the treatment. He assured me that before the days of soap, this was how his grandfather’s era got clean after a hard day of farming.

after every Bootcamp.. there is a pedicure.. bliss!

after every Bootcamp.. there is a pedicure.. bliss!

I have to confess that my feet are not too pretty mid way through a fitness retreat. My workouts are all outdoors, I trek in river and mud and then to finish it off there is the fine volcanic sand that ingrains itself firmly into my shoes and feet after a sunrise climb.

After every retreat… there is a spa pedicure. Luckily it’s an affordable option here in Bali as I need special treatment. The girls just giggle when I turn up… “what have you been doing to get into such a mess again?”

trekking, bootcamp, running takes its toll... I have no choice but to take care of my feet

trekking, bootcamp, running takes its toll… I have no choice but to take care of my feet

A handful of grainy mud… makes you rethink the $100 plus spa treatment at the salon?

(Tempted to try but you don’t have mud or a river on your doorstep? Try an orange. The guys often pick an orange off our trees, spilt it open and commence to clean their feet. It really gets rid of ground in dirt).

Do you have a simple spa treatment… share it!

 

Leave a Reply

