Tracey Spicer Stripped Bare

Tracey Spicer is a woman on a mission. Revealing her real self beneath the television wardrobe, makeup and hair facade, Tracey is asking us to question the amount of time we spend on personal grooming to meet society’s expectations.

Tracey spent a few days on retreat with us at Sharing Bali last year and I got to see and enjoy the real Tracey. She worked up a sweat with us on the fitness sessions, jumped around the top of a volcano with us in child like fashion and shared a beer with us at the hot springs. All sans makeup, hairdos and fashion statement gear. Trust me, Tracey knows how to enjoy life and the Queensland girl shines through.

Watch her amusing TEDx account of taking herself to task for being a vain fool. 

Tracey Spicer & Jo Sharp doing their sunrise moves at Mt Batur

Tracey Spicer & Jo Sharp doing their sunrise moves at Mt Batur

3 responses to “Tracey Spicer Stripped Bare

  1. Unfortunately, this is not an original piece of work! Journalist Suzanne Mostyn did exactly this nearly 2 years ago on live television during her segment on Channel 7’s The Morning Show. It was fascinating viewing, so much so, that Suzanne was asked to then write a follow up piece in The Telegraph. Here is the link to her written piece which also shows images from the show:
    http://twitter.yfrog.com/z/nv5lklnj
    As a proud sister, I am disappointed to see Suzanne’s work being copied without acknowledgement.

    Like

    • Thanks for your contribution Alex. I have read/listened to both pieces and regardless of the author I think it is a great message to share.
      I will leave you and Suzanne to discuss the issues of acknowledging content origins directly with Tracey and TEDx.

      Like

    • Hi Alex,

      Great to hear from you. I have known Suzanne for more than 15 years, and admired the work she has done in this area. So many high-profile women, over centuries, have railed again make-up, clothing, high heels, etc. – most famously the ‘bra-binners’ of the 1960s and 70s. This is the rich history of feminism: women, time and again, coming out and expressing their frustration at how society expects them to appear. If we didn’t keep speaking out, our voices would be lost. That’s why I decided to do my TEDx talk. The catalyst was actually my 7-year-old daughter standing next to me, as I got ready for Sky News, and asking, “Mummy, why do women wear makeup and men don’t?” That night, she asked a similar thing, as I was shaving my legs. Because it was TEDx – and I was asked for “one big idea”, I submitted the idea that if we cut back on grooming overall – makeup, certainly, but also hair, frocks, high heels, waxing, exfoliation, vanity exercising, etc. – we would have more than THREE THOUSAND extra hours over our lifetimes. To me, this speaks to a whole bunch of areas: the gender pay gap, productivity, and pleasurable leisure time. I hope that explains how I was trying to take the conversation in a broader, somewhat economic direction. And I’m sure Suzanne would be fine with that. Every time another woman talks/writes about a subject I have previously talked/written about, I’m delighted. It adds to the rich history of a centuries-old protest movement. Cheers, Tracey.

      Like

Leave a Reply

