John Lennon got it right… at the age of 5.

1

There’s a famous TedX Talk by a 13 year old boy living in Nevada. It’s been around for a while, but it’s only just come into my life. I have not been able to get it out of my mind. It asks a lot of good questions and in so many ways has relevance to Sharing Bali life.

The essence of the talk is that when asked the question “what do you want to be when you grow up” he replies that he just wants to be as he is right now… “happy and healthy”. He then goes on to question why our education systems don’t make this a priority.

He refers to a mentor who suggests there are 8 elements to practise to gain a state of health and happiness. I thought I’d test them out against Sharing Bali life. I’ll let the images talk…

It’s a good checklist. I have never broken Sharing Bali down to this level. Intuitively I am conscious of these elements, so its good to sit back and look at it more objectively. We’re doing ok.

He then goes on to talk about ‘hacking’ describing it as a mindset not a system. Everything is up for being hacked and anyone can be a hacker.  Hacking leads to innovation. I like to think that Sharing Bali hacked the health retreat world,  and as a result it is a place for our guests to hack their own lives for a short time.

I think I unknowingly hacked my life many years ago, way before the current call to ‘find your passion’ as if it’s a dark secret that will change your life forever. I lived a somewhat double life, commuting between Bali, Australia and wherever my business travels took me around the world. It made me happy, but on reflection there was no doubt that I developed a ‘Secret Me’ …… it didn’t fit with the general views on growing up.

I never expected that the path I hacked out for myself would have such relevance today. ‘Secret Me’ fits right into running a freedom based business and I’m ready to blab about it. I’ve been invited to work on the first “Working From Anywhere” Conference in Australia. We’re bringing together a line up of successful entrepreneurs sharing their real life experiences, knowledge, tips and practical know how through a series of lectures, workshops and personal conversations. Its all about being happy, healthy and living a life on your own terms. Let the hacking begin I say.

TedX talks create discussion, stimulate change. Not everyone agrees, there are critics of each talk. The common thread from the critics on this talk… He’s speaking from a position of privilege; This is what annoys me with movements like this, people don’t just accept the new, they renounce the old. You decide. Watch the talk.

Critics aside, if we go back to the first question… who could argue that his answer is not a good one?

4

John Lennon worked it out at the age of 5:

When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy”. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.

Anyone else now finding their ‘Secret Me’ is enjoying a whole new life?! Please do chat about it.

 

Leave a Reply

