Luxury can be as simple as a silk sarong #FootnoteToMyself #5

A simply beautiful piece of cloth

can't live withoutI love silk sarongs. For a simple, uncomplicated piece of cloth, they represent so much in my life.

Simple luxury.

Freedom.

Minimal possessions.

My love of textiles.

Silk sarongs are my little indulgence.

Every single one is carefully chosen. I can recall from where and whom I bought each sarong from—bargaining in the markets, or as a treat for myself when I’ve been busy scouring the fabric markets in Denpasar for my kimono range and staff outfits.

A sarong makes the best travel companion

Sarongs are also my travel buddies. They take up no room, and are my eternal reminder of Bali wherever I travel to in the world.

I have worn my sarongs in so many places—New York, Paris, the beach, etc. I have worn them city style with shirt, jewelry and decent shoes. I have worn them casual, Bali style, thrown on with a t-shirt, and also glammed up for temple ceremonies.

In fact, I never get on a plane or travel anywhere without one in my bag. A sarong has so many uses. It’s a scarf to protect me from the wind on the back of a motor bike; a wrap to ward off the inevitable (and awful) chill on a plane; it covers my arms and shoulders respectfully in the village, or when I visit other cultures; and it’s a scarf to transform an outfit from dull to fabulous when unexpectedly invited to social events on my travels.

(As an aside, I wear my sarongs with style and pride and mindfully. I’m not one to look like I’ve just left Kuta beach or a yoga retreat in Ubud! My sarongs are not chuck on because I can’t be bothered wearing anything else items.)

Effortless style

There is another angle to all this, though. I am absolutely enchanted by the clash of patterns, colours and textures that Balinese men and women wear, all at the same time. And I have many beautiful photos to prove that this clash works. I so admire the style with which they carry it off. It’s unique. Effortless. The bohemian in me desires dressing this way (and as a not-so-hidden boho, I do admit to tapping around the edges of this style).

There’s a damn it all because it doesn’t matter approach to life (and dressing) that I admire in the Balinese. The PLAIN ME (the one who wears grey marle t-shirts) really wants to just pile on the patterns and not have a care. I can’t quite pull it off with the required nonchalance of the Balinese, so my silk sarongs are a practical attempt to edge my way in to the effortless clash.

Mixing the patterned with the plain.

Kind of like life, really.

Leave a Reply

