A story about ‘eliminating the can’t’ with a little ZUU training thrown in.

fullsizeoutput_2

When an email arrives from someone who has a fitness business called “It Takes Guts” you just know there is a story behind the name.

And it turns out, Hollie Fielder has quite a story and is living proof that “It Takes Guts” to turn your life around after being given 5% chance of surviving stage 4 bowel cancer & secondary liver cancer at age 24.

As always, it reminds me to be grateful for the incredibly inspiring, life-loving people I get to work with at Sharing Bali. The Hollies of our world help put me right back in my box when I’m having a supposedly “tough day”!

Here’s just a little insight into Hollie’s world:

Me: Where do you call home?

Hollie: Central Coast NSW

Me: Best time of the day:

Hollie: Definitely morning, sunrise is my favourite

Me: Favourite fitness fix?

Hollie: I love simple training sessions that get the heart rate up and leaves me super sweaty, I also love a good bushwalk in nature

Me: All time fave food?

Hollie: I’d have to say chocolate and blueberries

Me: Biggest ‘aha’ moment in life?

Hollie: Not to take things too seriously, what will be will be

Me: Can’t live without:

Hollie: My smile

Me: What are you excited about right now?

Hollie: Coming to Bali to inspire a group of amazing people

Me: Every post of your clients training in their “It Takes Guts” t-shirts look amazing. What’s the story behind that kick-A business name?

Hollie: Thank you, I’m loving how the singlets & shirts have turned out and I am so thankful for the support from everyone.

‘It Takes Guts’ is a play on words for my health journey and a saying that we use when facing life’s obstacles.

At the age of 24 I was diagnosed with stage 4 bowel cancer & secondary liver cancer and given at 5% chance to survive, but when I heard those words I didn’t freak out I just wanted to know what I had to do to get through it.

I don’t know how to explain it but I knew that I was going to be ok and I made sure that I stayed positive and strong when the times got tough.

While this life experience can be seen as a negative I have chosen to see the positive. I was given this path for a reason and a second chance to inspire and empower others. My purpose is my passion and this is why I decided to join the health & fitness industry to help people make their health their wealth, to work with them in eliminating the can’t and to help them understand the power of a positive mindset.

Me: That really literally took guts. Power to you. I have a mantra that I do my best to live by…. ‘everyday is new life’. It really makes me appreciate that every new day gives me another chance, no matter what happened yesterday. You raise the bar!

Lets talk fitness training. Life at Sharing Bali has me striving to be what I call ‘fit for life’. I’ve learnt that having decent mobility and agility makes life more fun and stress free. I’m excited that you’ll be bringing your ZUU training techniques to Sharing Bali. With a catch phrase of Liberating Human Movement, it seems it is the perfect fit for us.  What’s it all about?

Hollie: ZUU is bodyweight training based around primal movements, its great for mobility injury prevention and getting your body to move freely. Completing my ZUU training has been such an amazing experience. I have noticed improvements in my hip mobility, overall strength and cardio endurance. I will be honest, it can put you in the hurt locker pretty quick, these movements create lots of lactic acid in the body. Over time you slowly become resilient to it, it always burns, but we learn to use our minds and train them to stay strong and not give up. ZUU is a great community to be a part of. No egos, inspiration everywhere and a lot of support.

Me: Your retreat is very focused on goal setting and purpose. I love that you work with people to “eliminate the can’t”. What’s your top tip for doing this?

Hollie: I notice a lot of people say “I Can’t” a lot before they even attempt something, it limits themselves as keeps them from growing in that aspect of their life.  I like to encourage people, show them that they have my support, that if they remove that word and just start anywhere they will be able to do it. Mindset for me was a big part of my journey, I use to pull myself together, determined that no matter what, I could do this and if you just find that inner belief magical things can happen. Its about letting down our barriers, stepping out of our comfort zone and not being afraid of failure but knowing that you will grow from what happens.

I like to remind people that if you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right, and I find that most people just don’t believe in themselves.

Me: You’ve jammed a lot in to your life so far. If you could go back in time, what advice would you give Hollie, aged 24, newly diagnosed with cancer?

Hollie: I don’t think there is anything I would say, I was very strong willed from the day I got told I had cancer. It scared the hell out of me but I always knew I was going to beat it. People ask me how did I know and I don’t really know how to answer that but I just did, I had this feeling that everything was going to be ok, I just had to climb over a few hurdles to get me there. It unlocked my strengths, strengthened my weaknesses and made me become so much more grateful and thankful for life.

Thanks for sharing your story, your resilience is inspiring. I’m excited to get amongst your ZUU sessions and to get a taste of your “It Takes Guts” approach to life Sharing Bali Retreat

Kubu Keling

Inspired? If anyone wants to join Hollie on a 6 day It Takes Guts Fitness Retreat in Bali, it’s happening Aug 13 – 18. Limited places. Pack your sense of curiosity and wonder. It’s going to be an enriching experience.

Leave a Reply

